Hancock County Board

Hancock County Illinois - County Board

Hancock County operates under the township form of county government, with the governing body being the County Board. The County Board holds all the powers of the County not assigned to elected officials and is responsible for the management of County funds and business. The County Board establishes the budget for the different county funds as well as implementing policies and programs through the levying of taxes and appropriation of funds.

The County is divided into five districts based on population. Three members are elected from each district, making a total of 15 County Board members. These members select the County Board Chairman. The County Board meets on the third Tuesday of each month at 6:30 pm in the County Board room on the third floor of the Courthouse in Carthage, IL.

“We have enhanced 911 service as well as ambulance services in our county. We do our best to spur economic growth to provide a safe and prosperous place to live,” states County Board Chairman, David Walker.


Board Members

Chairman: Cary Gray
Vice-Chairman: David Walker


District One

Thomas Scheetz (R)
Pat Cramer (R)
Wayne Bollin (R)

District Two

Jeanne Schell (R)
Dennis Castlebury (R)
Don Little (R)

District Three

Harold Stuckwisch (D)
Bryan Stevens (D)
Jerry Smith (R)

District Four

Steven Bolton (R)
Cary Gray (R)
Mark Hanson (R)

District Five

Stephen Finney (R)
David Walker (R)
Janet Fleming (R)