MINUTES OF A HEALTH MEETING OF THE COUNTY OF HANCOCK, STATE OF ILLINOIS HELD AT THE COUNTY COURTHOUSE IN THE CITY OF CARTHAGE ON DECEMBER 4, 2023

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by chairman Andrew Asbury. Members in attendance included Patsy Davis, Harry Douglas, Michelle Merritt, Stephen Finney, Mark Harrison, and Mark Menn. Ryan Weeks was absent. Visitors included Jeff Totten, Aaron Feagain, and Bobi James. Mike Heisler, Bill Smith, Marsha Lawson, Jim Nightingale, and Justin Hobby arrived later.

The new ESDA director Mr. Totten was introduced. Mr. Curfman will stay on for a while to help out. The mitigation plan was approved by the state. Mr. Totten asked what was expected of him. Discussion followed.

Mr. Feagain presented the EMS report. There were 150 calls, 146 were billable. Out the door time is 1 minute 50 seconds. There is \$174,398 total billable, \$225042.97 in checking. There was extensive discussion regarding heart monitor machines, Stryker versus Zoll. Motion to approve purchase of whichever heart monitor the ambulance board approves was made by Ms. Merritt, seconded by Mr. Finney. Mr. Finney asked for a roll call vote. Roll call vote was taken with all members present voting "yes". Motion carried.

There was a long discussion regarding the direction of animal control. There is a need for somebody to do the appropriate paperwork for bites, dangerous dogs, and threat of safety. The county animal control warden is not in charge of catching stray animals. The fee for the pound is \$20 impound fee plus \$15/day.

The mission statement was gone over. Motion to approve the mission statement with the amendment of pets to animals was made by Mr. Douglas, seconded by Ms. Davis. All members present voted yes.

There was discussion regarding the possibility of asbestos in the shed in Tioga. An animal control intake form is being worked on.

Motion to recess until December 15th at 8:30 was made by Ms. Merritt, Mr. Finney seconded. All members present voted yes. Meeting adjourned at 9:38 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Andrew Asbury, Chairman